AEC 510 - Fall 2018
Room:S102
Time: TuTh 8:30-10 AM
Date Day Name* Time/Place Referee #1 Referee #2
Sep. 04, 2018 Tuesday Bill Schwert & Giulio Triglia   organizational meeting
Sep. 25, 2018 Tuesday Hunter Land   Biwen Zhang Yifei Lu Zhao.Jin@simon.rochester.edu
Sep. 27, 2018 Thursday         Arthur.Kim@simon.rochester.edu
Oct. 02, 2018 Tuesday         Hunter.Land@simon.rochester.edu
Oct. 04, 2018 Thursday John Yang   Charles Wasley, Bryce Schonberger, Jaewoo Kim Yifei.Lu@simon.rochester.edu
Oct. 09, 2018 Tuesday David Swanson   Sudarshan Jayaraman, Joanna Wu, Jason Xiao Robert.Mann@simon.rochester.edu
Oct. 10, 2018 Wednesday Tianyang (Tim) Zheng 2-4 PM S207 Jerry Warner, Alan Moreira, Michael Gofman
Oct. 11, 2018 Thursday Yifei Lu   Hunter Land Rui Gao Yihua.Nie@simon.rochester.edu
Oct. 16, 2018 Tuesday Ran Duan   Ron Kaniel, Guilio Triglia, Dmitry Orlov Mykola.Pinchuk@simon.rochester.edu
Oct. 17, 2018 Wednesday Xuyuanda Qi 9-11 AM G119 Cliff Smith, Pavel Zryumov, Dmitry Orlov
Oct. 23, 2018 Tuesday Robert Mann   Robert Novy-Marx, Guilio Triglia, Bill Schwert Xuyuanda.Qi@simon.rochester.edu
Oct. 30, 2018 Tuesday         Botong.Shang@simon.rochester.edu
Nov. 01, 2018 Thursday         David.Swanson@simon.rochester.edu
Nov. 06, 2018 Tuesday         Pingle.Wang@simon.rochester.edu
Nov. 08, 2018 Thursday         John.Yang@simon.rochester.edu
Nov. 13, 2018 Tuesday         Biwen.Zhang@simon.rochester.edu
Nov. 15, 2018 Thursday         Tianyang.Zheng@simon.rochester.edu
Nov. 20, 2018 Tuesday        
Nov. 27, 2018 Tuesday         giulio.trigilia@simon.rochester.edu
Nov. 29, 2018 Thursday        
Dec. 04, 2018 Tuesday        
Dec. 06, 2018 Thursday        
 
*NOTE:  Please email your paper to billschwert@gmail.com at least one week before your presentation.   Your paper will be posted on this website. 
Also:The posted papers and referees' reports will be password protected.Email Bill Schwert to obtain the password. Shuaiyu Chen FIN 2020 1 Robert.Arscott@simon.rochester.edu
Ran Duan FIN 2022 1 Shuaiyu.Chen@simon.rochester.edu
Useful Information: Rui Gao ACC 2023 1 Rui.Gao@simon.rochester.edu
Tianchi Gao FIN 2021 1 Tianchi.Gao@simon.rochester.edu
Dilbert, 10/5/15 Zhao Jin FIN 2022 1 Robert.Gholson@simon.rochester.edu
Arthur Kim FIN 2022 1 Zhao.Jin@simon.rochester.edu
What's Hot in Finance? (2005-2010) Hunter Land FIN 2020 1 Arthur.Kim@simon.rochester.edu
†††† by Utpal Bhattacharya (Indiana University) Yifei Lu ACC 2020 1 Hunter.Land@simon.rochester.edu
Robert Mann FIN 2023 1 Robert.Mann@simon.rochester.edu
What's Hot in Finance? (2008-2012) Yihua Nie FIN 2021 1 Yihua.Nie@simon.rochester.edu
†††† by Utpal Bhattacharya (Indiana University) Mykola Pinchuk FIN 2023 1 Xuyuanda.Qi@simon.rochester.edu
What's Hot in Finance? (2011-2015) FIN 2021 1 Yihua.Nie@simon.rochester.edu
†††† by Utpal Bhattacharya (HKUST), et al. FIN 2023 1 Xuyuanda.Qi@simon.rochester.edu
Advice for Ph.D. students from Utpal Bhattacharya Botong Shang FIN 2019 1 Maxim.Sokolov@simon.rochester.edu
David Swanson FIN 2023 1 David.Swanson@simon.rochester.edu
Tips on how to avoid disaster in presentations Pingle Wang FIN 2019 1 Anh.Tran@simon.rochester.edu
†††† by Monika Piazzesi (now at Stanford Econ Dept) Yucheng Yang FIN 2021 1 Pingle.Wang@simon.rochester.edu
Biwen Zhang ACC 2022 1 John.Yang@simon.rochester.edu
Writing Tips for Ph.D. Students Tianyang Zheng ACC 2021 1 Biwen.Zhang@simon.rochester.edu
†††† by John Cochrane, Chicago GSB FIN 2023 Tianyang.Zheng@simon.rochester.edu
The Ten Most Important Rules of Writing Your Job Market Paper
†††† by Claudia Goldin and Lawrence Katz, Harvard Econ
David Laibsonís Job Market Advice for the ASSA Meetings
†††† by David Laibson, Harvard Econ
Style Guide from The Economist
Advice for Harvard Econ Job Candidates
John Cawley's Advice for Econ Job Candidates
Words of wisdom from Harry Roberts
JFE web page (lots of tips on writing, making good tables and figures, etc.)
Last updated: 9/19/2018
PW: meliora
Dec. 08, 2014 Dec. 15, 2014
2008 John Ritter john.ritter@simon.rochester.edu
2009 Yang Liu 1 1 yang.liu@simon.rochester.edu 1 1
2010 Mengjie Huang mengjie.huang@simon.rochester.edu
2010 Robert Parham robert.parham@simon.rochester.edu
2010 Mihail Velikov mihail.velikov@simon.rochester.edu
2010 Mi Wu mi.wu@simon.rochester.edu
2010 Yufeng Wu yufeng.wu@simon.rochester.edu
2011 Pyung Kun Chu 0 0 pyungkun.chu@simon.rochester.edu 0 0
2011 Jacquelyn Gillette not 12/8 1 jacquelyn.gillette@simon.rochester.edu not 12/8 1
2011 Ruoyan Huang 0 0 ruoyan.huang@simon.rochester.edu 0 0
2011 Einar Kjenstad einar.kjenstad@simon.rochester.edu
2011 Hongtao Li hongtao.li@simon.rochester.edu
2011 Anil Rao anil.rao@simon.rochester.edu
2011 Hao Zou 0 0 hao.zou@simon.rochester.edu 0 0
2012 Amanda Badger amanda.badger@simon.rochester.edu
2012 Anisha Barbora anisha.barbora@simon.rochester.edu
2012 Robert Kahn robert.kahn@simon.rochester.edu
2012 Jordan Moore 1 0 jordan.moore@simon.rochester.edu 1 0
2012 Maxim Sokolov 1 1 maxim.sokolov@simon.rochester.edu 1 1
2012 Anh Tran anh.tran@simon.rochester.edu
2013 Robert Arscott robert.arscott@simon.rochester.edu
2013 Arthur Kim 0 1 arthur.kim@simon.rochester.edu 0 1
2013 Hunter Land hunter.land@simon.rochester.edu
Sep. 11, 2017 Monday Bill Schwert & Pasha Zryumov   organizational meeting
Sep. 25, 2017 Monday Robert Arscott   Shuaiyu Chen Robert Gholson
Sep. 25, 2017 Monday Biwen Zhang 2:45-4:15, G120 Charles Wasley, Bryce Schonberger, Jason Xiao Biwen.Zhang@simon.rochester.edu
Oct. 02, 2017 Monday Pingle Wang   Hunter Land David Swanson Pingle.Wang@Simon.Rochester.edu
Oct. 02, 2017 Monday Zhao Jin 2:45-4:15, S207 Bill Schwert, Olga Itenberg, Pavel Zryumov Zhao.Jin@simon.rochester.edu
Oct. 04, 2017 Wednesday Anh Tran   Maxim Sokolov Pingle Wang anh.tran@simon.rochester.edu
Oct. 05, 2017 Thursday Botong Shang 1-3 PM, G120 Ron Kaniel, Cliff Smith, Robert Novy-Marx Botong.Shang@simon.rochester.edu
Oct. 23, 2017 Monday John Yang   Arthur Kim Xuyuanda Qi John.Yang@simon.rochester.edu
Oct. 24, 2017 Tuesday Shuaiyu Chen 1-3 PM, S103 Jerry Warner, Dmitry Orlov, Alan Moreira Shuaiyu.Chen@simon.rochester.edu
Oct. 30, 2017 Monday Ran Duan   Tianchi Gao Zhao Jin Ran.Duan@simon.rochester.edu
Nov. 01, 2017 Wednesday Xuyuanda Qi   Yihua Nie Robert Mann Xuyuanda.Qi@simon.rochester.edu
Nov. 13, 2017 Monday David Swanson   Robert Arscott Ran Duan David.Swanson@simon.rochester.edu
Nov. 15, 2017 Wednesday Maxim Sokolov 11 AM - 12:30 PM, S207 Biwen Zhang Shuaiyu Chen Maxim.Sokolov@simon.rochester.edu
Dec. 04, 2017 Monday Silver Chung G118, 10:30-12     Silver.Chung@simon.rochester.edu
Dec. 04, 2017 Monday Robert Mann   Tianchi Gao Yihua Nie Robert.Mann@simon.rochester.edu
Dec. 06, 2017 Wednesday Arthur Kim       Arthur.Kim@simon.rochester.edu
Dec. 08, 2017 Friday Rob Arscott 1-3 PM, S102 Jim Brickley (Chair), Gerry Wedig and Michael Gofman Robert.Arscott@simon.rochester.edu
           
Sep. 23, 2014 Tuesday Bill Schwert   organizational meeting
Sep. 29, 2014 Monday Justin Vitanza 12:30-2:30, G120 Proposal seminar: Michael Raith and Lenny Kostovetsky, readers
Sep. 30, 2014 Tuesday Yufeng Wu 10:15-12, S207 Proposal seminar: Rob Ready & Erin Smith, readers
Oct. 01, 2014 Wednesday Bhoomija Ranja 9-10:30, S201 Mitch Lovett, Paul Ellickson, Garrett Johnson
Oct. 02, 2014 Thursday Eugene Fama 9:15-10:15 NA
Oct. 07, 2014 Tuesday Robert Parham   Mihail Velikov Jordan Moore
Oct. 07, 2014 Tuesday Amanda Badger 10-11:30, S207 Charles Wasley, Jaewoo Kim, Bryce Schonberger
Oct. 09, 2014 Thursday R. Jay Kahn 1:30-3, S107 Cliff Smith, Jerry Warner, and Toni Whited
Oct. 14, 2014 Tuesday Yang Liu   Proposal seminar:Charles Wasley and Erin Smith readers
Oct. 21, 2014 Tuesday Anisha Barbora 9-10:30, S107 Cliff Smith, Erin Smith, and Jerry Warner
Oct. 21, 2014 Tuesday Mihail Velikov 10:30-12, S207 Proposal seminar: John Long and Jaewoo Kim, readers
Nov. 04, 2014 Tuesday Maxim Sokolov   John Long, Dmitry Orlov, and Rob Ready
Nov. 06, 2014 Thursday Robert Arscott   R. Jay Kahn Robert Parham
Nov. 10, 2014 Monday Anh Tran 1:30-3:00, S407 John Long, Ron Kaniel, and Robert Novy-Marx
Nov. 11, 2014 Tuesday Jordan Moore   Bill Schwert, Ron Kaniel, Robert Novy-Marx
Nov. 19, 2014 Wednesday Arthur Kim 8:30-10, S201 Yang Liu Anisha Barbora
Nov. 20, 2014 Thursday Hunter Land   Jacquelyn Gillette Anil Rao
Dec. 02, 2014 Tuesday Ruoyan Huang   Maxim Sokolov Robert Arscott
Dec. 03, 2014 Wednesday Yufeng Wu 8:30-10, S201 Mihail Velikov Jordan Moore
Dec. 09, 2014 Tuesday Robert Parham   Einar Kjenstad R. Jay Kahn
Dec. 09, 2014 Tuesday Olga Itenberg, Erin Smith, Dmitry Orlov, Jaewoo Kim, Bryce Schonberger 10-12, S107 Q&A session related to research strategies, the job market, etc.
Sep. 26, 2013 Thursday Anil Rao   Shane Heitzman, Charles Wasley, Ed Owens
Sep. 26, 2013 Thursday Yunjeen Kim 3-4:30 PM, G119 Jerry Warner, Ron Goettler, Lenny Kostovetsky
Oct. 01, 2013 Tuesday Pyung Kun Chu   Ron Kaniel, Jerry Warner, Lenny Kostovetsky
Oct. 02, 2013 Wednesday Arnaud Cave 10:30-12, G119 Joanna Wu, Shane Heitzman, Jaewoo Kim
Oct. 03, 2013 Thursday Einar Kjenstad   Jerry Warner, Paul Ellickson, Rob Ready
Oct. 08, 2013 Tuesday Jacquelyn Gillette   Charles Wasley, Joanna Wu, Ed Owens
Oct. 08, 2013 Tuesday Thu Vo 2:15-3:45 PM, G118 Bill Schwert, Anzhela Knyazeva, Ed Owens
Oct. 15, 2013 Tuesday Hao Zou   John Long, Robert Novy-Marx, Toni Whited
Oct. 17, 2013 Thursday Justin Vitanza     J Vitanza [jvitanza@gmail.com]
Oct. 22, 2013 Tuesday Hongtao Li   Cliff Smith, Boris Nikolov, Bill Schwert
Oct. 24, 2013 Thursday Ruoyan Huang   Toni Whited, Cliff Smith, Boris Nikolov
Oct. 29, 2013 Tuesday Robert Parham   Mihail Velikov Pyung Kun Chu Parham, Robert [Robert.Parham@Simon.Rochester.edu]
Oct. 31, 2013 Thursday RobertKahn Einar Kjenstad Thu Vo Kahn, Robert [robert.kahn@Simon.Rochester.edu]
Nov. 05, 2013 Tuesday Jordan Moore   Yufeng Wu Anil Rao Moore, Jordan [Jordan.Moore@Simon.Rochester.edu]
Nov. 07, 2013 Thursday Maxim Sokolov   Yunjeen Kim Arnaud Cave Sokolov, Maxim [Maxim.Sokolov@Simon.Rochester.edu]
Nov. 14, 2013 Thursday Anisha Barbora   Ruoyan Huang RobertKahn Barbora, Anisha [Anisha.Barbora@Simon.Rochester.edu]
Nov. 19, 2013 Tuesday Mihail Velikov   Einar Kjenstad Justin Vitanza Velikov, Mihail [Mihail.Velikov@Simon.Rochester.edu]
Nov. 21, 2013 Thursday Anh Tran   Yang Liu Maxim Sokolov Tran, Anh [Anh.Tran@Simon.Rochester.edu]
Dec. 03, 2013 Tuesday Ke Na S102 Pyung Kun Chu Amanda Badger Na, Ke [ke.na@Simon.Rochester.edu]
Dec. 05, 2013 Thursday Silver Chung S102 Yunjeen Kim Arnaud Cave Chung, Silver [Silver.Chung@Simon.Rochester.edu]
Dec. 10, 2013 Tuesday Yufeng Wu   Thu Vo Hongtao Li Wu, Yufeng [Yufeng.Wu@Simon.Rochester.edu]
       
Amanda Badger   Hunter Land Biwen Zhang
Anisha Nyatee   Pyung Kun Chu Maxim Sokolov
Maxim Sokolov      
Pyung Kun (Pete) Chu      
Einar Kjenstad 10:30-12, G120    
Robert Parham   Einar Kjenstad Robert Arscott
Pingle Wang 1:30-3 PM, S407 Robert Ready, Ron Kaniel, Jerry Warner
Yihua Nie 1-2:30 PM, S102 Jerry Warner, Erin Smith, Ron Kaniel
Botong Shang   Anh Tran Anisha Nyatee
Jordan Moore 10AM-noon, S102 Bill Schwert, Jaewoo Kim, Yufeng Huang (proposal seminar)
Amanda Badger 20 min  
Tianchi Gao 1-2:30, S301 Bill Schwert, Dmitry Orlov, Olga Itenberg
Hunter Land   Jordan Moore Amanda Badger
Anh Tran      
Anisha Nyatee 10:30-12, S103 Mitch Lovett, Rob Ready, Bryce Schonberger (proposal seminar)
Robert Arscott      
Silver Chung 10:00-11:30, S103